Home Page
Visitor’s Diary
Programme Calendar
Office Bearers
Photo gallery
Articles on Shatkala Govinda Marar by eminent writers...
Compositions which are believed to be done by Shatkala Govinda Marar.
Download Compositions...
Keli Puraskaram Certificate
Notice 2012
ONV Anusmaranam
Shatkala Govinda Marar Smaraka Kalasamithy
Prof. M. P. Manmadhan (late) – the eminent sarvodaya leader and social worker came to know about Sri. Govinda Marar from a speech delivered by the great Malayalam poet Ulloor S. Parameswara Iyer.He decided to setup a suitable memorial to the saint musician at his birth place at Ramamangalam. The Shatkala Govinda Marar Smaraka Kala Samithy took birth under the chairmanship of Prof. M. P. Manmadhan in 1980. The Samithy engages in the establishment of several institutes to promote the study of traditional music and temple arts of South India with facilities for advanced research in all branches of arts and music. After the demise of Prof. M. P. Manmadhan, Sri. C. Radhakrishnan (writer, film director), Sri. M. P. Gopalakrishnan (Rtd. R. D. O.) and Prof. Mavelikkara Prabhakara Varma (musician) lead the Samithy. Prof. George S. Paul (renouned art journalist and columnist) is presently leading the Samithy.

A memorial building consisting of class rooms and auditorium had setup wih help of Central/State Governments, Local Self Government Institutions and well wishers in the vicinity of the famous Narasimhamoorthy Perumthrikkovil. Classes have been arranged to impart training in classical music (vocal and instrumental), classical dance and temple arts.

Shatkala Govinda Marar Sangeetholsavam
A festival dedicated to the memory of the musical prodigy is being conducted under the auspicious of Kerala Sangeetha Nataka Academy from 1992. Several famous artists from South India came to Ramamangalam to pay their homage before the saint musician during the last two and a half decades.

Padmasree Dr. K. J. Yesudas, Kunnakkudi Vaidyanathan, T. N. Krishnan, Neyyattinkara Vasudevan, K. S. Gopalakrishnan, M. G. Radhakrishnan, Neyyattinkara Mohanachandran, Dr. K. Omanakutty, Kudamaloor Janardhanan, Thiruvizha R. Jayasankar, Valayappetty Subramaniam, Njaralath Rama Poduval, Janardhanan Nedungadi, Mattannoor Sankarankutty, Prof. S. Gupthan Nair, M. T. Vasudevan Nair, Kavalam narayana Panicker, Kavalam Sreekumar, Prof. Vishnu Narayanan Namboothiri, Kamala Das, Ambalapuzha Rama Varma etc. were some dignitaries among them.
Read more
Read more
© Copyright 2008 Shatkala Govinda Marar Smaraka Kalasamithy, Ramamangalam P.O
Muvattupuzha, Ernakulam Dist. KERALA-686 663 Ph:0485-2277758
Designed & Maintained by Penguin Systems
Home Page